Hôtel Madison

Summary

Guided tour

Location

Services & Prices

On arrival
Set slightly back from the Boulevard Saint Germain and standing eight storeys tall behind a typically Parisian stone facade, the Madison is easy to spot with its short canopy and shrubs in pots.

The entrance leads to the reception counter, and then to the hotel’s lounges and dining room behind it. On the floor, ceramic tiles and carpets; on the walls, painted wood panelling and frescoes of Paris in the decadent twenties; and for furniture, antique armchairs and sofas with traditional patterns, all set against a very warm, light background of yellow and orange tones, recreating the charm and informality of a house in Provence.

Opening off to the right of the foyer is a lounge in a quieter, authentic style. It blends wood panelling and fabric wall coverings in wide satin stripes, nubuck and velvet sofas with contemporary lines and colours, antique tapestries, chests of drawers and clocks, and in particular several impressionist paintings of walks along the seashore. Secluded from the foyer and the passing crowds, this room is a private place where you can read the newspaper, catch up with your e-mails or just unwind.

The bedrooms
The corridors that lead to the bedrooms are decorated in a cheerfully eclectic style: a historical mosaic on the landing by the lift, traditional carpets in warm colours, fabric wall coverings in a different colour, and frescoes honouring local personalities in the service lift.

All different, all traditional and subtly rich-looking, the bedrooms vary in tone, sometimes understated, sometimes romantic or inspired by Provence, as with the suite on the top floor.

The difference is mainly due to the choice of colours for the wall fabrics and the carpets: chic, relaxing soft blue with a beige pattern; classic, stimulating light blue with red and white stripes, or very warm orangey-apricot shades.

Several identical or different patterns may be combined, on the wall fabrics, the bed heads, the curtains and bed covers, but the mix is always chosen with care.

Much of the furniture comes from antiques markets, and the bedrooms are decorated with a few paintings and fine, light charcoal drawings. Indirect lighting emphasises the cosy feel. Finally, robust storage has been provided for transcontinental travellers’ baggage.

The bathrooms are covered with either coloured glazed tiles (brown, burgundy, red or beige) or Italian tiling in soft colours. Most of the rooms have bathtubs with modern tap fittings.

Types of room
The hotel offers four room types:  single, double, twin and deluxe. It is mainly their size that distinguishes them. Although compact, the single rooms are still comfortable. Some deluxe rooms are for three people and all of them have an armchair.

There is also the Suite on the top floor, with a mansard roof and the advantage of beautiful views over Paris in two directions, and traditional decoration with a few Provencal touches.

The rooms either overlook the Boulevard Saint Germain and are well soundproofed, or they overlook a little courtyard from the third floor upwards. The top floors have lovely views across Paris.

Breakfast

The hot and cold buffet breakfast is served in a room in the style of a Provencal kitchen, which opens onto the ground-floor dining room. A very wide choice is on offer, from fruit juice, fresh fruit and fruit salad, small pots of jam and mini pastries, to cold meats, a wonderful cheeseboard, scrambled eggs with cold cuts, pancakes and a variety of other items. 

Starting at 178€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 7 Rating : 7
Room amenities 8 Rating : 8
Breakfast 8 Rating : 8
Property amenities 7 Rating : 7
Global Rating 7.5 Global Rating : 7.5

Contacts & booking

Hôtel Madison

143, boulevard Saint Germain
75006

Metro station : Saint Germain des Prés

Hôtel Madison

En résumé

Visite guidée

Emplacement

Prestations

L’arrivée
Dressant dans un décrochement du boulevard Saint Germain ses huit étages à la façade de pierre typiquement parisienne, le Madison se repère facilement avec sa courte marquise et ses quelques arbustes.

L’entrée débouche sur le comptoir de la réception, et derrière lui, s'ouvre sur les salons et la salle à manger de l’hôtel. Au sol, des carreaux de céramique et des tapis, aux murs, des boiseries peintes et des fresques représentant le Paris des années folles, et pour mobilier, des fauteuils et canapés de style aux motifs classiques, le tout sur des tons jaune-orangé très clairs et chaleureux, reproduisant le charme et la décontraction d’une demeure provençale.

A droite de l’entrée s’ouvre un salon au style plus sobre et authentique. Mélangeant boiseries et tissus tendus à larges rayures satinées, canapés aux lignes et couleurs contemporaines en nubuck et velours, antiques tapisserie, commode et horloges, et surtout, quelques peintures impressionnistes avec des promenades au bord de mer comme sujet. Protégé de l’entrée et du passage, ce salon est un cocon pour lire la presse, consulter son courrier électronique ou se relaxer.

Chambres
Les couloirs qui mènent aux chambres procèdent d’un éclectisme joyeux : mosaïque historique sur le palier de l’ascenseur, moquettes classique aux couleurs chaudes, tissus tendus d’une autre couleur ou encore fresques en l’honneur de personnalités du quartier sur l’ascenseur de service.

Toutes différentes et toutes classiques, un brin cossues, les chambres jouent sur plusieurs registres, parfois sobres, parfois romantiques ou d’inspiration provençale comme pour la suite du dernier étage.

Ces différences tiennent essentiellement aux choix des couleurs des tissus tendus et des moquettes : bleu tendre avec des motifs beiges, chic et relaxant, bleu clair entrecoupé de rayures rouges et blanches, classique et tonique, ou encore abricot-orangé, très chaleureux.

Identiques ou différents, de nombreux motifs peuvent se croiser : celui des tissus tendus, des têtes de lit, des rideaux et des couvres lit, mais tous sont assortis avec rigueur.

Le mobilier est souvent chiné et quelques tableaux ou gravures au fusain, fines et légères, viennent décorer les chambres. Les éclairages indirects renforcent le côté cosy. Enfin, de solides rangements ont été prévus pour les bagages des voyageurs transcontinentaux.

Les salles de bains sont recouvertes soit de carreaux émaillés de couleur (marron, bordeaux, rouge ou beige), soit de carrelage italien aux couleurs douces. La plupart des chambres sont équipées de baignoires avec une robinetterie moderne.

Types de chambre
L’hôtel propose quatre types de chambres : les « single », les « double », les « twin » et les « deluxe ». C’est essentiellement la taille qui les distingue. Bien qu’étroites les single restent confortables. Certaines deluxe sont proposées pour trois personnes et toutes disposent d’un fauteuil.

A cela s’ajoute la « Suite » située au dernier étage, mansardée, bénéficiant d’une double exposition avec de très belles vues sur Paris et une décoration classique avec quelques notes provençales.

Les chambres donnent soit sur le boulevard Saint-Germain et sont bien isolées, soit sur une courette qui s’ouvre à partir du troisième étage. Les derniers étages offrent de jolies vues sur Paris.

Petit déjeuner

Servi dans une pièce aux allures de cuisine provençale, ouverte sur la salle à manger du rez-de-chaussée, le petit déjeuner est proposé en buffet froid et chaud. Il offre un très large choix de jus de fruits, de fruits frais ou en salades, de confitures en ramequin, de mini-viennoiseries, de charcuterie, mais également un beau plateau de fromages, des œufs brouillés avec leur charcuterie, des crêpes et différents autres détails.


À partir de 178€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 7 Confort : 7
Confort Chambres 8 Confort : 8
Petit-Déjeuner 8 Confort : 8
Infrastructure & Services 7 Confort : 7
Confort Global 7.5 Confort Global : 7.5

Contacts & Réservation

Hôtel Madison

143, boulevard Saint Germain
75006

Station de Métro : Saint Germain des Prés