Soho Hotel

Summary

Guided tour

Location

Services & Prices

Alice in Wonderland

Opening its doors in 2004, the Soho Hotel became the first luxury hotel in the heart of London’s Soho. The hotel is hidden away between two particularly busy streets, providing the growing number of local audio-visual companies with a tailor-made hub of social activity and a place to meet.

The immense open spaces of what was once a car park provided the designers with an deal blank canvas on which to let their imagination run free and create a colourful, cheerful, dream-like establishment decorated with a multitude of contemporary artworks.

Hotel after hotel, husband and wife team Tim & Kit Kemp have lovingly written one of the finest chapters in the history of the London hotel trade. They have built up their company, Firmdale Hotels, to become the first independent hotel group in the capital, which currently comprises seven of London’s most beautiful hotels.  Tim is responsible for seeking out new locations and his wife Kit decorates them with unquestionable taste and incredible creative flair.

Immediately showered with numerous accolades, its 91 rooms and suites find their inspiration in a traditional English style that has been skilfully up-dated and invigorated to create spacious rooms, each one different, combining velvet and linen, floral motifs and stripes, soft and vivid colours, intricate textures and untreated materials.

Immense bed heads and huge lamps or lampshades lend an otherworldly feel whilst through the glass panes of the broad windows you have a more urban outlook over the bricks and rooftops of London. In this respect, the fifth floor suites are an absolute must, a combination of vibrant, sensual décor set against an urban backdrop.

With both comfort and vitality in mind, the hotel facilities include a restaurant, Refuel, which serves international bistro-style food, a perpetually busy bar boasting a long Alexander Hollweg fresco, spacious lounges, the Soholistic spa and beauty centre and, something of a rarity in London, two lovely screening rooms.

Hotel employees, dressed in Mark Powell uniforms, are enthusiastic, energetic and company-minded, and, true to the style of the establishment, the service is relaxed and friendly.

The clientele

The Soho Hotel attracts a large English-speaking clientele from the audio-visual world and is perfect for taking advantage of the buzz of the city centre in the comfort of unusual, carefully decorated, surroundings.

If you like the jet set lifestyle, you will love its chic and lively informal atmosphere, very different from other establishments frequented by guests of the same calibre but which can sometimes be more stiff and formal.

Starting at 291€ Book now
Comfort Rating
Room size 9 Rating : 9
Room amenities 9 Rating : 9
Breakfast 8 Rating : 8
Property amenities 9 Rating : 9
Global Rating 9 Global Rating : 9

Contacts & booking

Soho Hotel

4 Richmond Mews
W1D 3DH

Metro station : Tottenham Court Road

Soho Hotel

En résumé

Visite guidée

Emplacement

Prestations

Alice au pays des merveilles

Né en 2004, le Soho Hotel est le premier hôtel de luxe à avoir ouvert au cœur du quartier de Soho. Discrètement situé entre deux rues particulièrement vivantes, l'établissement répond à l’évolution d'un quartier où les sociétés d'audio-visuel sont légions. Il leur propose ainsi un lieu de vie et d’échanges taillé sur mesure.

Ancien parking dont les larges plateformes ont offert un très bel espace de liberté à ses créateurs, le Soho Hotel est peuplé de nombreuses œuvres d’art contemporain, décoré d'une façon colorée et suggère une atmosphère pleine de gaieté et de rêves. 

Ses créateurs, Tim & Kit Kemp ont écrit amoureusement, hôtel après hôtel, l’une des plus belles page de l’hôtellerie Londonienne. Devenu peu à peu le premier ensemble hôtelier indépendant de la ville, Firmdale, leur société, rassemble aujourd’hui sept des plus beaux hôtels de Londres. Se partageant les rôles, Tim, le mari, se charge de découvrir de nouveaux emplacements, tandis que Kit, son épouse, les décore avec un goût sûr et une incroyable créativité.

Immédiatement saluées par de nombreuses récompenses, ses 91 chambres et suites s’inspirent d’une tradition anglaise revue avec une intelligente vigueur contemporaine. Toutes différentes et spacieuses, elles conjuguent velours et lin, motifs floraux et à rayures, couleurs douces et intenses ou textures travaillées et matériaux bruts.

Têtes de lit démesurées, pieds de lampes ou abat-jour immenses, construisent des espaces où l’on se sent comme invité au rêve. En contrepoint, les carreaux découpant les larges fenêtres des chambres ouvrent des perspectives plus urbaines sur les briques et les toits de Londres. A ce titre, les suites du cinquième étage offrent un must absolu entre l’énergie sensuelle de la décoration et l’espace urbain dans lequel elles s’inscrivent.

Soucieux aussi bien de confort que de vitalité, l’hôtel comprend un restaurant à la cuisine bistrotière internationale, « Refuel » et un bar toujours gorgé de monde et décoré d’une longue fresque signée Alexander Hollweg. Il dispose également de spacieux salons, d'un centre de soins-spa-relaxation, « Soholistic », et, chose rare dans Londres, de deux très belles salles de projection de cinéma. 

Le service est assorti à l’endroit, enthousiaste et tonique, relax et sympathique, habillé Mark Powell et attaché à l’esprit de la maison.

 

Pour qui ?

Attirant une large clientèle anglo-saxonne provenant du monde de l’audio-visuel, le Soho Hotel est idéal pour profiter du cœur battant de la ville dans un cadre à la décoration originale et pensée pour être confortable.

Pour les amoureux d’une certaine ambiance jet-set, il séduira surtout par son côté informel chic et vivant, très différent d’autres endroits tout aussi bien fréquentés mais parfois plus épurés et plus froids.

 

À partir de 291€ Réserver
Notation de l'établissement
Taille des chambres 9 Confort : 9
Confort Chambres 9 Confort : 9
Petit-Déjeuner 8 Confort : 8
Infrastructure & Services 9 Confort : 9
Confort Global 9 Confort Global : 9

Contacts & Réservation

Soho Hotel

4 Richmond Mews
W1D 3DH

Station de Métro : Tottenham Court Road